Home > eCommerce > People who buy this, also buy that – the Amazon upsell

People who buy this, also buy that – the Amazon upsell

So for whatever reason I was on the German Amazon site. I cannot speak German and have never bought from the site. For whatever reason thereafter I was looking for Baseball bats on Amazon.de. Interestingly i’ve never played baseball and don’t intend to, we have a wii for that.

So this fine looking baseball bat caught my eye…..
Amazon baseball bat

Amazon are renowned in the web world for using clever algorithms to find the best selection of other products you may be interested in. i.e. People who bought X typically also buy Y. They are actually so good that 30% of the time i’ve been sold – that’s a great conversion for a cross sell.

Anyway. In Germany, people who typically buy the very fabulous Aluminium Baseballschlager 30′ American Baseball typically buy the following items (this still hasn’t been taken down by Amazon.de)….

amazon 2

Yup. People who buy the bat typically buy leather black gloves, a balaclava (wtf…) and what appears to be pepperspray….

Good God German people, you scary!

Update 30th Oct 09 – hmm its gone


Categories: eCommerce
  1. Noushkie
    February 6, 2010 at 1:22 pm

    Ha! This made me laugh so much!! =)

  2. July 20, 2013 at 7:54 am

    Hello there, I found your blog by the use of Google
    even as looking for a comparable matter, your web
    site came up, it appears to be like good. I have bookmarked it in my google
    bookmarks.
    Hello there, just became alert to your weblog through Google, and found
    that it’s really informative. I’m gonna watch out
    for brussels. I’ll be grateful in the event you proceed this in future. A lot of folks shall be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  3. June 5, 2014 at 9:17 am

    Asking questions are in fact fastidious thing if you
    are not understanding anything entirely, except this post presents nice understanding yet.

  4. June 17, 2014 at 7:43 am

    We stumbled over here from a different web page
    and thought I might check things out. I like what I see so i am just following you.
    Look forward to looking over your web page again.

  5. June 22, 2014 at 7:15 am

    I believe this is one of the most significant info for me.

    And i am glad reading your article. However want to statement
    on few common things, The site style is perfect, the articles is really nice :
    D. Just right job, cheers

  6. June 29, 2014 at 10:20 am

    Thanks for one’s marvelous posting! I definitely enjoyed reading it, you
    happen to be a great author. I will ensure that I bookmark your blog and definitely will come back from now on. I want to encourage you to continue your great writing, have
    a nice holiday weekend!

  7. July 4, 2014 at 3:03 pm

    Great beat ! I would like to apprentice even as you amend your site, how can i subscribe for a blog web
    site? The account aided me a appropriate deal.
    I were tiny bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered vibrant clear
    idea

  8. August 4, 2014 at 3:27 pm

    Thank you for some other excellent post. Where else may just anyone get that
    kind of information in such a perfect manner of writing? I have a presentation next week, and I’m on the look for such information.

  9. August 24, 2014 at 7:05 pm

    I do consider all the ideas you’ve offered to your post. They’re really
    convincing and will definitely work. Still, the posts are very
    brief for starters. May you please lengthen them
    a bit from subsequent time? Thank you for the post.

  10. September 4, 2014 at 2:39 pm

    Everyone loves what you guys are usually up too. Such clever work and coverage!
    Keep up the good works guys I’ve added you guys to
    my blogroll.

  11. September 15, 2014 at 6:04 am

    Excellent beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your site,
    how could i subscribe for a blog site? The account helped me a acceptable
    deal. I had been tiny bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered
    bright clear idea

  12. September 21, 2014 at 9:31 am

    Right now it seems like Drupal is the best blogging platform available
    right now. (from what I’ve read) Is that what you’re using on your blog?

  13. September 27, 2014 at 6:26 pm

    Hello it’s me, I am also visiting this web page on a regular
    basis, this website is truly pleasant and the viewers are
    genuinely sharing fastidious thoughts.

  14. October 4, 2014 at 1:02 am

    Hey There. I found your weblog the usage of msn. That is a really neatly written article.
    I will make sure to bookmark it and come back to read extra of
    your helpful info. Thank you for the post. I will certainly
    return.

  15. LukasM
    July 21, 2015 at 5:16 am

    Hello admin, i see that kunalramchandani.com needs fresh posts. Daily updates will rank your page in google higher, content is king nowadays. If you are to lazy to write unique content everyday you should search in google for:
    Ightsero’s Essential Tool

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

